The Brick Lane area, also known as Banglatown, is home to the Bangladeshi population in London.  Curry houses line the streets while graffiti art lights up the walls.

Streets of Brick Lane on a rainy afternoon

Although lined with curry houses galore, after much reading, Indian food elsewhere in London is supposed to be better.  However, we were hungry and wet, so we went into a random restaurant to eat.  I ordered garlic naan and butter chicken.  The naan was so warm and delicious, but the butter chicken became too heavy after a few bites.

Garlic Naan

Butter Chicken

Wandering around the streets of Brick Lane you will notice all the graffiti art that lights up the neighborhood.  It makes you wonder who did it, its significance, how the community feels about it, etc.

The Brick Lane “beigels” are a must.  Two stores sit next to each other, but the one on the left is supposedly the better of the two.  Since I only had room in my stomach for one (SHOCKER!), a trip back is a must in order to really test which one should be crowned king.

I am so in love with this city.  So much so that I’ve been slacking on updates and going out to explore instead.  It’s my final week here (even though I’m still writing about week one… oops) and I’m definitely going to live it up! 🙂

