So I’ve been in London for about a week now… and I must say, I’m LOVING it!  The city itself is sooooo amazing!  It’s so big and there’s so much to do and see, it’s almost ridiculous.  It’s overwhelming at times and it’s so easy to get lost, but thankfully everything’s in English and most of the time we’ve been going around with our TA Alex (who knows the place like the back of his hand).  THe first two days, I was on my own with another girl from my program and we just walked around and explored parts of the city.

Traveling from the airport to our hotel was a struggle.  The instructions on the hotel’s website wasn’t clear and being dumb, I forgot to print out the map… so we ended up walking around for like an hour lugging our suitcases (mine was like 53 pounds!) and found out it was like around the block from the Tube (subway) station….. I would do that.  We finally found our hotel though!  It looked like just a regular house on the block so it was hard to find!

After settling in for a little, we decided to head over to Oxford Circus, London’s busiest shopping area.  It was crazy packed on a Friday afternoon and reminded me so much of Hong Kong’s TST area and Causeway Bay.  I loved it!  I’ve really missed all the hustle and bustle of a big city, so this was perfect for me!

Oxford Circus

We walked around a bit, just window shopping before popping into a random restaurant to eat dinner.  I had a caprese panini, and it was good, but food in London is SUPER expensive!  Take the price in the USA and just put a pound sign in front and that’s how much it is.  Almost twice the cost!  Oh how I wish I could afford to live here!

We then walked over to Leicester Square, where many theaters are held and large electronic billboards light up the area.  Kinda Times Squares-esque, but with old London buildings as the backdrop.

We then walked over to the very close Trafalgar Square.  One of these days, I WILL climb the lions.  But not when I’m super tired and jetlagged.  Or in a skirt.  But it’s a must before I leave!

Trafalgar Square

Since we were just wandering anyways, we made our way to the Embankment area, which follows along the Thames River.  We found the Charing Cross bridge, which holds magnificent views of the London Eye and the Big Ben.  For a while, we were like, hey, there’s a big clock, but I wasn’t sure if it was the Big Ben.  Until I realized that it was.  Fail.

Charing Cross Bridge

LONDONNNNN

I have definitely fallen in love with this city in a matter of days.  I can’t wait to explore some more and just see what else this city has to offer!

