This past week, I took a quick trip down to the Bay Area to visit some friends I made in Hong Kong and to eat like a fat kid eats cake.  That being said, I had an awesome week filled with fun, adventures, food, and the occasional awkward moments that comes with being reunited with friends you haven’t seen in a while 🙂

The first full day I spent in SF, I first explored the Embarcadero area for a little while before meeting up with a friend for lunch.  The first stop was the Ferry Building, which houses a cute marketplace area with food and shops.

Ferry Building

Inside the building is Miette, a patisserie with cute cookies and cakes.  And of course, the BEST macarons I’ve had so far!  I know I do love Joel Robuchon but haven’t had it in a long time, so for now, Miette takes the cookie.  Until I go to Paris that is!

Miette
Hazelnut Macaron

I can’t wait to go back and try different flavors and other goodies from Miette!

Next on my to-do list was to hit up La Boulange, where I met up with a friend for lunch.  Half an open faced turkey sandwich and a salad was delicious although all the baked goods at the counter were oh so tempting!

La Boulange

For dinner, we headed to Off the Grid, a collection of food carts that come together daily.  Friday nights are the food cart mecca at Fort Mason, where about 30 carts come together.  Long lines and crowdedness reminded me of last summer’s Seattle Mobile Chowdown.

The wait for Chairman Bao was ridiculous, but SO worth it!  I really want to eat it again!

Chicken and Pork Steamed Buns

We also ate Creme Brulee Cart, but I was way too excited to eat that I didn’t take a picture.  The Yes! Please, of Nutella and strawberry creme brulee was so delectable and one of the best eats I had in SF!

