I’m a nerd, and I’m proud to be one!  I love learning history about different places and understanding the significance of the past and how it has shaped the present.  This is why I thoroughly enjoyed my visit to the Kowloon Walled City Park in Kowloon City.  The area was formerly a fort used by the Qing Dynasty, but the British soon took over the New Territories and the area became semi-lawless and government-less.  During the Japanese takeover, the wall was torn down and the area used for the old airport.  After the war, the area became the slums of Hong Kong, and in the 1980s, reached a maximum of 40,000 people living in improper high rises and the streets filled with drug deals and criminals.  In the early 1990s, the city decided to turn the area into a park and incorporate many of the old styled buildings.  What a great history lesson to learn and a wonderful place to visit.

Park's Gates

Gate to Almhouse

Inside the Almhouse was a small exhibit about the history of the park and also had a few exhibition rooms simulating what life was like within the walls of the city.  I love being a history nerd and having this be the highlight of the park!

Replica of Old Kowloon City

Kowloon City is now known as “Little Thailand,” as the streets are filled with Thai restaurant after Thai restaurant and Thai stores.  This is THE place to get authentic Thai food in Hong Kong, so why give up the opportunity when it arises?

"Little Thailand"

We went to an award winning restaurant, from Openrice.com anyways, Hong Kong’s version of Yelp.com (my favorite food finding website in the US), called Cambo Thai.  It was both delicious and satisfying.  I’m definitely getting prepared for my trip to Thailand!

Pineapple Fried Rice

Did I just mention Thailand??  I think I did!  That’s right.  We just booked a four day trip to Thailand to Bangkok and Hua Hin and I’ll be going in two weeks!  I simply cannot wait to go to the beach, the spa, ride an elephant, and see all of the amazing sights!  And of course, eat Thai food!  🙂

