So I’m at the Vancouver Airport waiting for my TWO AM flight to Hong Kong!  I’m much too tired and should be taking a quick nap, but a part of me is scared that I am going to miss my flight and another part of me has too many emotions running through me.  You know that feeling you get when you’re a kid and you’re about to go to Disneyland the next day so you can’t sleep?  Yeah, that’s me.  And I won’t even be able to sleep when I get into Hong Kong because it’ll be 6 am, just in time to start my day!

I can’t believe this is actually happening.  I have no idea what to expect.  The motions of going through all the paperwork, packing, and even getting on the plane don’t equate to it all actually being reality.  It still really hasn’t hit me yet that I won’t be in Seattle come September, that I won’t be watching Jake Locker take UW to the top of the PAC-10, that I won’t be sharing fall quarter with everyone, that I won’t be going home for Thanksgiving, that I won’t be running in the 25th annual Dawg Dash… it hasn’t sunk in yet!  And probably won’t until I’m actually landing in Hong Kong.  I know these next four months will go by super quickly.  I want to savor every moment and every memory I have over there and am excited to share it all with you!

I miss my family and friends dearly already.  Saying goodbye at the airport today was super hard, but I know that they are all excited for me and for what I’m about to embark on, so instead of being sad, I will embrace this experience with everything I have to make leaving home worth it!

Next time I update I’ll be in Hong Kong!  See you on the other side of the world! 🙂